I have just read an article this morning that Facebook are removing the privacy option, that once protected users from being searchable. Now all users are searchable for any other user. The old privacy setting was called “Who can look up your Timeline by name”, but Facebook claim that only a small number of users actually selected the option not to appear in Facebook search results. In addition, Facebook claim that this privacy option often caused confusion when users were searching for a friend, who they knew personally, yet their friend did not show up in their search results. Furthermore, users who clicked this option were still searchable via the News Feed and through Graph Search.
This new privacy change by Facebook has been met with some Negative reactions. As one critic wrote, Facebook has billions of users. Facebook said only a small percentage of their users had opted for the privacy setting anyway, however, this small percentage could in fact be millions of users. Facebook failed to disclose what percentage of users used this privacy option.
It would be interesting to know everyone’s thoughts on the privacy setting change. Do you think this will cause users to worry about their privacy more, and who can see what they post? Will this lead to users not wanting to share as much information about themselves as they did previously? Facebook’s business strategy is fuelled by people sharing their personal information, do you think changes such as these could in the long run, damage their business strategy?
However it is worth nothing, that Facebook are now going to notify users who are making a public post, that users who they do not know, might be able to see their activity. Could actions such as these counteract the above criticisms?